Great Wall sections in Shanxi to get more protection

( Updated: 2020-12-01

Eight sections in North China's Shanxi province were included in a list of important sections of the Great Wall released by the National Cultural Heritage Administration on Nov 27.

The sections are located in Tianzhen, Yanggao and Zuoyun counties administered by Datong city, Pingding county administered by Yangquan city, Shanyin and Youyu counties administered by Shuozhou city, and Pianguan and Fanshi counties administered by Xinzhou city.  

The Great Wall is a central part of the historical and cultural heritage of China, necessitating its protection. 

Shanxi is one of the provinces with many Great Wall sections built in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644). As such, the province has conducted extensive field work on the Great Wall sections built during the dynasty since 2009. 

There are 470 sections of the Great Wall from the Ming Dynasty in Shanxi, extending 896.53 kilometers, with 3,081 individual structures, 344 fortresses and passes and 27 related structural remains. 

The first 83 national-level important sections of the Great Wall -- mostly built in Qin (221-206 BC) Han (206 BC-AD 220) and Ming dynasties -- are quintessential representative sections of the entire structure. 

They have typical cultural motifs, important gateways and beacons and are closely related to major historical events such as the War of Resistance Against Japanese Aggression (1931-45) and the Red Army's Long March. Going forwards, they will receive strict daily supervision, management and protection.

1 2 3 4 5